Camino de Santiago – In Azura

So I´ve been quiet lately. It was a mix of lack of computer access, being busy, and having so much to say that I didn´t know where to start. Over the summer, I plan to do a series of Camino articles to cover various aspects of this walk. But for now, I will just do a quick update. I have 39km left to go!! I will arrive in Santiago on Tuesday, two days later than originally planned. This means that I will not be walking to Finisterre – instead I will do a daytrip on the 29th. I have the option to roadtrip with 4 Irish women or take the bus on my own. I´ll let you know what I choose!

Passing into the double digits has been weird. Can´t believe I will be reaching my goal so soon and that it is almost over already. I´ve continued to meet new people (no Norweigians, though), ate weird things (pulpo – never eating it again), taken a billion photographs, and enjoyed most aspects of this walk (I still hate hills).  No life changing decisions made, however. Ah well.

The past couple days have been markedly different from the rest of my Camino. Once I hit Sarria, there were more and more people on the trail. Sarria is the last ¨major¨town from which a person can start in order to get a compostela. And the new people are obviously new. They are cleaner, more happy or more upset, their walking pole tips are fresh, they tend to have little bags, and they generally don´t say hola/buen camino. Lovely bunch. Though, of course, there are execptions!

I will leave you with one experience I had today. Walking down a rather steep hill, I came across this giant group of Germans who look like they are on a Camino day trip. As I crunched down the gravel hill, they turned towards me with delighted facial expressions. They parted like the Red Sea and I, complete with staff (walking sticks) up in the air, graciously made my way through the group. I rounded the bend and saw another giant group – repeat process. I was trying so hard not to laugh to the point where I was biting my lip as I passed them.  I seriously couldn´t be a celebrity.

5 responses to “Camino de Santiago – In Azura

  1. Glad to hear you are alive and still having a wonderful experience! I vote for you doing the roadtrip…I feel like that could allow you to see a lot more and stop at a lot more places.
    And I can totally picture you barreling through a group of pristine Germans with your large backpack and a determined look on your face (perhaps looking slightly scruffy?). 🙂 Enjoy the last few days of the camino!

  2. But you are a celebrity!! You are “the Dark Lady that roams the Camino”! See, your reputation preceded you and even the Germans knew who you were, hence the parting of the red sea. As you walked through them, they were whispering in awe, “it’s the Dark Lady”! We see her; she actually exists!” All Europe will tell of this tale for generations to come! 🙂

  3. Almost to the end! Wow! Do you feel stronger after all your walking or do you feel like you need to recover from it?
    I’d go with the Irish ladies if they seem nice!
    Maybe you’ll make life-changing decisions in Turkey?

    I agree, Cheryl, I think all those Germans were mesmerized by the sight of the famed Dark Lady, few are lucky to behold her! 😀

    Good luck! You’re almost there! Yay!

  4. Wow, you’re at the home stretch!! I vote road tripping with the Irish women. What kind of life changing decisions were you expecting to make during your trip?

  5. Hey Kendra
    Definitely a fun read. I hope you put together a manual on the planning stages for such a walk and then what to do once you are on the road. Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

