Camino de Santiago – Santiago and other stuff

Just wanted to let you know that I reached Santiago on May 28, 2 days later than I had planned. I definitely don’t regret not being able to walk to Finisterre as it meant that I could really take my time walking the early stages. Reaching Santiago was fairly anticlimatic – it takes a while to walk through the city to get to the historic centre and once I reached the cathedral, at first I didn’t realize it! I had to ask someone if this was it! haha – and then it was, “oh…I’m here?” For me, the end really kicked in once I handed over my pilgrim’s passport for verification in order to get my compostella. And then I didn’t have a chance to let it sink in as I had to rush to get checked in my hotel in order to make it in time for noon mass at the cathedral. I will post more details later this summer but for now, I wilI say that I got to see the butufomerio (sp?) swing!! Twice!!!

This blog will change focus for the next few weeks – I am off to Turkey so I will be posting some updates on that as I find some wifi/computers. However, I have lots to share about the camino so once I am back home in July, i will be posting articles on various aspects of the journey. And photos! Lots of ’em ūüôā

Thank you to those who commented on my camino posts – hope to hear from you while I’m in Turkey and later on in the summer as I continue with writing about the Camino experience. So for now, adios until I send a “merhaba!” post from Turkey later this week!

– Kendra

14 responses to “Camino de Santiago – Santiago and other stuff

  1. Hooray! You made it! Strange and interesting that the end of such a long and hard journey felt so anti-climatic! Maybe it’s one of those things that won’t really won’t sink in til a few months from now when you’re going through your pictures! Awesome job! ūüėÄ

    On to Turkey! (Aaaaand I keep hearing about riots in Istanbul on the news! Perfect timing, eh?)

  2. Congrats, again K on such a tremendous accomplishment! I admire you, greatly! I understand the anti-climatic experience (remember turning the corner and stumbling upon the Sydney Opera House?) The general response was “Oh. It looks smaller than I imagined.” But R is right, it’s only after the fact does it really sink in, especially if it features in a movie or when revisiting photos. So, when you come home, we’re gonna watch The Way, again! ūüôā AND I want a blow by blow of your journey superimposed against the protagonist’s.

    Well, my dear, enjoy Turkey! See if you could get “the” shot that will launch your dream career! But try not to GET SHOT in the process, please.

    …AND BUY ME SOMETHINGS!

    Yo mama xoxo

  3. Oh, by the way, if I have to come bail you out of jail in Turkey, would you prefer me to do it before or after my shopping at the Grand Bazaar?

  4. Congratulations!! Another bucket list item complete:) You made beautiful memories that will last a lifetime even if it hasn’t all sunk in yet. Can’t wait to see pictures!

    …Yay for Turkey time!!

  5. …and the first thing in the news this morning was about protests in Turkey – might make for an adventurous journey Stay safe miss K. ūüôā

  6. Congratulations on completing the Camino. I’m still processing the whole process. I keep thinking I’m seeing people from the walk here in Winnipeg. I also found it was a bit of an anti-climax getting to Santiago but it was wonderful seeing so many folks I had walked with over the 5 weeks. Be careful in Turkey as there’s demonstrations against the government going on in Istanbul.

  7. Awesome job completing the camino! Can’t wait to see pictures and read more of your trip ūüôā

  8. Congrats on finishing! That is amazing! Looking forward to hearing more about it in July. ūüôā

Leave a Reply

